Who We Are

Virginia’s 5th congressional district is a United States congressional district in the Commonwealth of Virginia. It covers part of the counties of Fauquier, Henry, and Bedford; and encompasses all of the counties of Rappahannock, Madison, Greene,  Albemarle, Nelson, Fluvanna, Buckingham, Cumberland, Appomattox, Campbell, Prince Edward, Charlotte, Lunenburg, Franklin, Pittsylvania, Halifax, Mecklenburg, and Brunswick; as well as the independent cities of Charlottesville and Danville.  


Virginia has 11 Congressional Districts

The 5th District (in mauve below) is Virginia’s largest district with an area of 10,181.03 square miles, larger than New Jersey.

Districts in Virginia

Click on map to get larger map which you can zoom in. 

Note: the map is incorrect: in the 5th District - Bedford City is not its own separate unit, but is part of Bedford County.